Not Fast But Not Last
My Love/Hate Relationship with Running

Snowpocalypse

The Portland Metro area received the most snow since 1993 in the last week.

I have tried to find totals to be accurate, but it seems we got between 6 and 8 inches here, which is not normal ever, but definitely not normal for February.

The snow started to fall on Thursday and didn’t really stop until Saturday.

It was fun to play in the snow and it was a great workout walking around the neighborhood, since the streets were not plowed. The city basically shut down for a few days.

snow 1

Look at all that snow! The streets were covered!

 

snow 2

View from my bedroom. Looks fake.

 

Snow Angels!

Snow Angels!

 

I am usually running over this bridge, not hiking in my rain boots!

I am usually running over this bridge, not hiking in my rain boots!

The only negative thing about all the snow was that running was out of the question. The snow was too high and then when it started to melt, it was too dangerous with the icy conditions. We are almost back to normal today, so I am hoping to get out there in the next few days to break in my new running shoes.

Even the local running groups cancelled their usual group runs, which is unheard of.

So my new Brooks Ghost 6’s sit quiet, shiny and new, waiting to be taken on a nice, long run….

Ghost window

They are so cute!

I love the colors!

I love the colors!

The ridges on the midsole remind me of feathers on wings.

The ridges on the midsole remind me of feathers on wings.

Hope everyone is staying safe and warm!

2 Responses to “Snowpocalypse”

  1. It sounds like you enjoyed the snow. I remember running in it when I lived in Chicago. We had to use YakTraks to prevent slipping.

    Great blog!


Leave a comment